• en
  • sr

Promo image 2GCImage 1jpg

Launched in 2022 as a collaboration between the RIBA and Scott Brownrigg Architects, the RIBA Scott Brownrigg Award for Sustainable Development funds research to address environmental and ethical issues and enhance the quality of life of communities across the globe. It offers £5,000 to individuals or teams interested in developing research projects or practical work in architecture-related topics associated with one or more of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations Global Compact:

Goal 01: No Poverty

Goal 02: Zero Hunger

Goal 03: Good Health and Well-Being

Goal 04: Quality Education

Goal 05: Gender Equality

Goal 06: Clean Water and Sanitation

Goal 07: Affordable and Clean Energy

Goal 08: Decent Work and Economic Growth

Goal 09: Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

Goal 10: Reduced Inequality

Goal 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities

Goal 12: Responsible Consumption and Production

Goal 13: Climate Action

Goal 14: Life Below Water

Goal 15: Life on Land

Goal 16: Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions

Goal 17: Partnerships to Achieve the Goal

The scheme intends to focus on developing the skills and competencies of the successful applicants and on generating practical solutions or considered recommendations that improve the physical environment and enhance the quality of life of citizens and communities.

The award is open to individuals or teams of architecture graduates and practitioners for projects lasting between three and 12 months.

Eligibility criteria

The award is open to individuals or teams of architecture students, graduates, academics and qualified architects who have obtained a professional qualification in architecture in higher education institutions that offer courses validated by the RIBA in the UK or abroad.

To be eligible to apply for the award, the sole or lead applicant must:

  • have successfully completed a RIBA-validated Part 1 course or with candidate course status in the UK or abroad, and
  • be enrolled, or have been granted a place of study, in a RIBA-validated Part 2 or 3 course or with candidate course status in the UK or abroad by the beginning of the period covered by the award, or
  • have graduated from a RIBA-validated Part 2 or 3 course or with candidate course status in the UK or abroad

Selection criteria

Applications will be assessed against evidence of the following criteria:

  • relevance and originality of the research topic
  • the maximum potential for the research output to advance the United Nations Global Compact Sustainable Development Goals
  • the candidate’(s’) research ability, and their academic or professional competency in the field proposed
  • thorough project planning, particularly regarding implementation of realistic time frames, and effective budget and resource management
  • details of how the applicant(s) will benefit personally and professionally from the experience
  • explanation of what the benefits of the research are to the architectural profession, as well as to the communities and individuals directly affected by the intended outputs of the research

How to apply

To apply for this award, please read the guidance notes (PDF) and complete the application form (Word).

Completed application forms should be emailed with ‘SBA2022’ in the subject line to

The deadline for receipt of applications is 5pm on Friday 24 June 2022Applications received after this deadline will not be considered.